Friday, March 2, 2012

Central Information Commission inducts 3 more Information Commissioners

Three more Information Commissioners in the CIC Shri Satyanand Misra, the Chief Information Commissioner, administered the Oath of office to three new Information Commissioners in New Delhi today. They are: Sh. Rajiv Mathur, Sh. Vijai Sharma and Sh. Basant Seth. Sh. Rajiv Mathur is a retired I.P.S. officer while Sh. Vijai Sharma last worked as an expert Member with National Green Tribunal, Principal Bench, New Delhi. Sh. Basant Seth is a retired Banker. The term of Information Commissioner is for a period of five years or sixty five years of age whichever is earlier.

With the induction of three new Information Commissioners, the strength of Information Commissioners in the Central Information Commission will be eight, apart from Chief Information Commissioner. Increased strength of Information Commissioners will strengthen the effectiveness of the RTI regime.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Competitiveness, climate, security Finn’s priorities Ministry of Finance release Finnish road map of EU presidency. Finland i...