Tuesday, September 27, 2011

India asks Pakistan to destroy 42 operational terror camps

India has again asked Pakistan to destroy the 42 terror camps operational on their soil. Defence Minister A K Antony told this to reporters on the sidelines of the Coast Guard Commanders' Conference in New Delhi on Tuesday when asked about India's concerns over the existing terror camps in Pakistan.

In the recent past, reports have suggested that a large number of terrorists are waiting on the other side of the Line of Control (LoC) to infiltrate into Jammu and Kashmir.

To a query on the impact of the pullout by the US forces from Afghanistan in the next couple of years, he said, a resurgent Taliban can be a security concern for India after western forces leave the war-torn country.

American troops are scheduled to leave Afghanistan by 2014 and are engaged in the process of building capabilities of the Afghan National Army to enable it to handle security on its own.

124th Edition of Durand Football Tournament 2011

124th Edition of Durand Football Tournament 2011
Members of the Durand Football Tournament Society addressed the press briefing chaired by General Officer Commanding, Headquarters Delhi Area Major General Manvender Singh AVSM VSM. The detailed given in the briefing are as follows :

Durand Cup this year is scheduled from 24th September to 15th October 2011. The tournament will be conducted in two stages. Stage –I will be Qualifying Knock Out and Stage - II will be Quarter Final League round.

The Qualifying Knock Out round matches will commence from 24th September 2011. 20 teams have been accommodated in Qualifying Knock Out rounds. Four Regimental teams from the Army, one team each from Indian Navy and Indian Air Force, two teams from DSA as recommended by Secretary, DSA. Five teams from Para Military forces i.e. BSF, CRPF, Assam Rifles, Punjab Police and Uttrakhand Police. Two teams from PSU Viz. State Bank of Hyderabad and State Bank of Travancore and four teams Second Division i.e. Sporting Club De Goa, Lajong Shillong, and Mohmmedan Sporting Club. Two teams from private sector i.e Bhawanipur Football Club and Tata Football Academy. They will be divided into two groups and ten teams each. Winner of each group will be promoted to Quarter Final League round.

Nine teams from National League standing they are Salgaocar SC, Sikkim United, Churchill Brothers, Pune FC, Mumbai FC, Prayag United, Air India Mumbai, HAL Bangalore, ONGC and Services football Champion Army Red. Two winner teams of Qualifying rounds will compete in this round. Hence total 12 teams have been divided in four groups of three teams each. Winner of each group will play Semi-Finals in alternate fashion i.e. Winner of Group – I will play against Winner of Group – III and Winner of Group – II will play against Winner of Group – IV. It will be played on Knock Out basis. The Final Match is scheduled for 15 Oct 2011.

COSCO Platina FIFA approved football is the official ball of the tournament. The cash award for the Winner, Runners up and the 3rd postions will be awarded with Rs. 20 Lakhs, 10 Lakhs and 05 Lakhs respectively.

Competitiveness, climate, security Finn’s priorities Ministry of Finance release Finnish road map of EU presidency. Finland i...