Saturday, January 18, 2014

Elections for 55 RS seats in 16 states to be held on Feb 7

The elections for 55 Rajya Sabha seats in 16 states will be held on 7th of next month. The states include Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Bihar, Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Gujarat and Manipur. The term of office of 55 Rajya Sabha MPs is to expire in the month of April.

Notification for the polls will be issued of 21st of this month and if necessary polling will be held on 7th February and counting of votes will take place on the same day.

The prominent among those whose tenure is expiring include Jayanti Natarajan of Congress, BJP's Prakash Javadekar and Shivanand Tiwari of JD(U).

Competitiveness, climate, security Finn’s priorities Ministry of Finance release Finnish road map of EU presidency. Finland i...